Gray matter atrophy related airtifact

Hi,

I am new to the ALFF analysis and recently applied this to a group of neurodegenerative patients, who have severe atrophy. When I did a two-sample t test on the mALFF maps between patients and normal controls. I found the atrophied regions showed stronger activation in patients than normal control. This difference is very robust and remains even after atrophy correction with BPM. I wonder whether this could be due to the contamination of CSF accumulated at the atrophied region in patients. But it seems weird, since I thought CSF BLOD signal oscillation should be lower than GM? Or maybe their signal is more consistent than GM and turned out to be higher in a 2-sample t test.

Thanks for your input.
Christine

Dear Christine,

I am very very sorry for the delay because I was out these days.

This is an interesting phenomenon. Actually, previous study (Zou, Q.H., Zhu, C.Z., Yang, Y., Zuo, X.N., Long, X.Y., Cao, Q.J., Wang, Y.F., Zang, Y.F., 2008. An improved approach to detection of amplitude of low-frequency fluctuation (ALFF) for resting-state fMRI: fractional ALFF. J Neurosci Methods 172, 137-141.) has reported that the ALFF was greater (noisily?) in CSF regions. It may caused by the CSF signal has high amplitude in the full frequency band.

I guess this might be the reason of what you found. However, in one of our previous study (Wang, Z., Yan, C., Zhao, C., Qi, Z., Zhou, W., Lu, J., He, Y., Li, K., in press. Spatial patterns of intrinsic brain activity in mild cognitive impairment and alzheimer's disease: A resting-state functional MRI study. Hum Brain Mapp.), we found the PCC (which with atrophy) in AD patients has a lower ALFF than normal controls. Just for your reference.

Best wishes!

Thanks for the reply.